Leadership

The skills and expertise to help students achieve the next level in their construction career.

The Painting & Disaster Restoration Academy provides training for high school students, Veterans and others looking for a career in a fast-growing, high-demand industry.

Through online courses, the Academy trains students in safety, painting and disaster restoration. Courses in the Construction Safety Core Curriculum Training (required for all students) encompass basic safety, ladders, scaffolds, basic rigging, hand and power tools along with construction math, construction drawings, and material handling. Courses in the painting trade encompass protecting surfaces, surface preparation, sealants, paints and coatings, brushing vs. rolling vs. spraying, drywall finishing and patching, finishes and tinting. Courses on disaster restoration will prepare students to manage restoration projects such as damage due to water, fire and smoke, mold, and vandalism and crime scenes.

While completing the coursework, the Academy helps students secure employment. For painting students who complete the coursework, the required Performance Profiles and pass the final exam for each book module with a 70% or higher will earn NCCER accreditation for that level. For restoration, the Academy offers students certification services that are endorsed by the Institute of Inspection, Cleaning and Restoration Certification (IICRC) standards body.

The Academy will offer optional courses that will help students and other craft professionals to be more successful in their career.

The Painting & Disaster Restoration Team has the skills and expertise to help students achieve the next level towards their future.

Kimberly Oderkirk headshot

Kimberly Oderkirk

CEO/Administrator, Instructor 

koderkirk@pdr.academy
Karen Tiedt headshot

Karen Tiedt

Disaster Restoration & Safety Advisor, Instructor

ktiedt@pdr.academy
Jim Oderkirk headshot

Jim Oderkirk

Business Advisor

joderkirk@pdr.academy
Shay Rangel

Shalynn Rangel

Program Coordinator

srangel@pdr.academy
Ajsa Jasarevic

Ajsa Jasarevic

Curriculum Coordinator

ajasarevic@pdr.academy
John headshot

John Macfarland

Painting Curriculum Advisor, Instructor

john@macfarlandpainting.com